in , ,

Team names of PJL 1 revealed

Team names of PJL 1 revealed

The inaugural edition of the Pakistan Junior League (PJL 1) is all set to take place in Lahore from October 6th to 21st. PJL, which is PCB chairman’s dream project, is finally coming true, as it ambitions to provide U19 cricketers with a platform to shine and rise.

The PSL-like T20 league for U19 cricketers will feature six teams in the maiden edition named Bahawalpur (Southern Punjab), Gujranwala (Central Punjab), Gwadar (Balochistan), Hyderabad (Sindh), Mardan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Rawalpindi (Northern).

The mentor panel composed of six members was earlier confirmed, but each mentor has now been allotted his own franchise to carry on duties with. According to details, Shoaib Malik will mentor Gujranwala, whereas the former South African cricketer will assist Bahawalpur.

Former Pakistani cricketer Shahid Khan Afridi will be the team mentor of Mardan, and New Zealand’s hard hitter Colin Munro will provide his services to Rawalpindi. Sir Viv Richards, who has been Quetta Gladiators’ essential part for six out of seven seasons, is named Gwadar’s mentor, whereas Hyderabad have Darren Sammy as their mentor.

Former Pakistani skipper Javed Miandad with work with and assist the overall six-member mentor panel of PJL 1. Notably, the six mentors are expected to earn more than 1 Crore PKR for rendering their services.

The PCB has also confirmed the player draft for the tournament to be played on a single-league basis will be held in Lahore on 6 September. Details around the draft process will be announced shortly.

Over 140 players from Afghanistan, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, England, Ireland, Nepal, the Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and the United Arab Emirates have completed their registrations for the tournament through their respective cricket boards as well as clubs and professional representative submissions.

Also, see:

PCB struggles for live streaming of PJL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afghanistan becomes first team to reach Asia Cup 2022 Super fours

Afghanistan becomes first team to reach Asia Cup 2022 Super fours

MECC vs ANT Live Score starts on 31 Aug, 12:00 PM IST at Vrijbroek Cricket Ground in Mechelen, Belgium. Here on you can find all Live, Upcoming.

MECC vs ANT Live Score, ECS T10 Belgium 2022 Live Score, MECC vs ANT Scorecard Today, MECC vs ANT Playing XI’s