in , ,

Pakistan and New Zealand Battle for the Number One ODI Ranking in Upcoming Series

The upcoming three-match ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand has the potential to shake up the rankings in the cricket world. Currently, Pakistan sits in fifth place with 107 rating points, while New Zealand holds the top spot with 116 rating points. However, if Pakistan is able to sweep the series 3-0, they will jump to the number one spot with 114 rating points.

This will be Pakistan’s fourth series win in a row, following victories against Netherlands, West Indies, and Australia. The Pakistani team will be looking to build on the momentum from their recent Test series against New Zealand, which ended in a thrilling 0-0 draw. In the second Test, Pakistan’s Naseem Shah and Abrar Ahmed survived 21 balls in fading light, while Sarfaraz Ahmed hit a fighting century, leading to a draw and denying New Zealand a series victory.

The ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand is set to take place in Karachi, with the first match scheduled for January 9, followed by the second on January 11, and the third on January 13. Both teams have announced their squads for the series, with Kane Williamson captaining the New Zealand side and Babar Azam leading Pakistan.

New Zealand’s squad includes Tom Latham, Finn Allen, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, and Henry Nicholls, among others. Pakistan’s squad features the likes of Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Rizwan.

With both teams boasting strong lineups, it is sure to be an exciting series that could have significant consequences in the world of cricket rankings. Pakistan will be looking to continue their winning streak and make a push for the number one spot, while New Zealand will be determined to hold onto their position at the top of the rankings.

Pak vs NZ ODI series squads

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham, Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee and Blair Tickner.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shan Masood (vice-captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani, Tayyab Tahir and Usama Mir.

Here are the dates and locations for the upcoming ODI series between Pakistan and New Zealand:

Pak vs NZ ODI series schedule

9 January – 1st ODI, Karachi

11 January – 2nd ODI, Karachi

13 January – 3rd ODI, Karachi

All three matches will take place in Karachi, Pakistan.

Also, see:

What will PCB do if Asia Cup 2023 is moved out of Pakistan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Matt Henry ruled out of Pak vs NZ ODI

This player has been ruled out of Pak vs NZ ODI series

THU vs SIX Live Score starts on 8 Jan 2023, Sun, 1:45 PM IST, Mahinda GMHBA Stadium, Geelong, Australia. Here on you can find all Live, Upcoming

THU vs SIX Live Score, Big Bash League 2023 Live Score, THU vs SIX Scorecard Today, Playing XI’s