- ICC addresses dispute over Rassie van der Dussen’s dismissal graphic during Pakistan vs. South Africa match.
- ICC Clarified an erroneous display was acknowledged; the correct details were later presented in the LBW review.
- Another contentious DRS call favored South Africa, impacting the match outcome in their favor.
In a recent turn of events at the ICC World Cup 2023, the match between Pakistan and South Africa witnessed a significant controversy surrounding the dismissal of South African batter Rassie van der Dussen. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has now shed light on the contentious Decision Review System (DRS) incident that took place during the 26th match at the M Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.
Van der Dussen, batting at 21 off 39 deliveries, found himself in the midst of controversy when Usama Mir’s delivery struck his pad, prompting an appeal. The on-field umpire adjudged him out, leading the 34-year-old batter to challenge the decision promptly.
As the players awaited the decision, a momentary ball-tracking display appeared on the big screen, indicating the impact as “umpire’s call” and the wicket as “missing.” However, this display was swiftly taken down, and a revised ball-tracking, featuring “umpire’s call” on both impact and wickets, was shown, sparking a debate.
An ICC spokesperson clarified the incident, describing the initial graphic as “erroneous.” He stated,“In today’s match between South Africa and Pakistan, an incomplete graphic was erroneously displayed during the LBW review of Rassie van der Dussen. The completed graphic with the right details was ultimately displayed.”
The controversy didn’t end there, as another contentious decision unfolded later in the game, ultimately impacting the match outcome in favor of Temba Bavuma’s men. On the last ball of the 46th over, with South Africa still needing 8 runs, Haris Rauf’s delivery struck Tabraiz Shamsi on the front foot. Despite a noticeable gap between the bat and pad, the on-field umpire ruled not out.
Pakistan opted for a DRS referral, and the ball-tracking system revealed that the impact was in line with the stumps. However, the ball had pitched outside off and just grazed the leg stump. The on-field umpire’s decision was upheld, allowing Shamsi to survive. South Africa went on to secure their fifth win, thanks to Keshav Maharaj’s crucial contribution.