in ,

No surprises in India’s likely squad for T20 World Cup 2024

No surprises in India's likely squad for T20 World Cup 2024
Image via BCCI

With the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 fast approaching, speculation surrounding India’s squad is reaching fever pitch. While the BCCI remains tight-lipped on some selections, a few names seem almost certain.

Leading the charge is the resurgent Virat Kohli. After a stellar performance in the IPL 2024, currently holding the coveted Orange Cap, his place in the squad appears solidified. His successful return to T20I action against Afghanistan has further cemented his value to the team. Of course, Rohit Sharma will continue his role as captain, providing a formidable opening partnership with Kohli.

The wicketkeeper’s slot remains a point of contention. While reports suggest Rishabh Pant’s return to international cricket, the likes of Sanju Samson and KL Rahul are making compelling cases with their strong IPL performances. Their run tallies are remarkably close, adding another layer of complexity to the selection process.

Among the batting contingent, established names like Suryakumar Yadav and the in-form trio of Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh, and Yashasvi Jaiswal are vying for spots alongside Rohit, Kohli, and the potential inclusion of Shubman Gill.

The bowling attack seems more straightforward. Jasprit Bumrah, the spearhead of the pace attack, is a guaranteed selection. He’ll likely be joined by Mohammed Siraj and Arshdeep Singh for the new-ball duties, with the search on for another pacer to complete the line-up.

Kuldeep Yadav is expected to be the lone specialist spinner, offering variety alongside the spin-bowling all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. Hardik Pandya adds firepower as the fast-bowling all-rounder, a crucial role in T20 cricket.

While young talents like Riyan Parag and Abhishek Sharma are impressing in the IPL, the BCCI might prefer to test them in bilateral series before including them in the high-pressure World Cup squad.

The final selection committee meeting is scheduled for April 28th or 29th, with skipper Rohit Sharma attending. All eyes will be on the chosen names as India seeks to reclaim the T20 World Cup glory. Will they stick to proven experience, or will there be room for a surprise or two? The wait for the official announcement continues to build the excitement ahead of this much-anticipated tournament.

India’s 15-player squad for T20 World Cup may be like:

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Virat Kohli
  3. KL Rahul/Sanju Samson
  4. Shubman Gill
  5. Yashaswi Jaiswal
  6. Suryakumar Yadav
  7. Rishabh Pant
  8. Shreyas Iyer/Shivam Dube/Rinku Singh
  9. Hardik Pandya
  10. Ravindra Jadeja
  11. Axar Patel
  12. Jasprit Bumrah
  13. Mohammed Siraj
  14. Kuldeep Yadav
  15. Arshdeep Singh

Also, see:

IPL 2024: Why Hardik Pandya was fined INR 12 lakh?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PKR vs PZ Live Score starts on 22 Apr 2024, Mon, 7:00 PM IST at Al Amerat Cricket Ground Oman Cricket Ministry Turf 1 Here on you can find all .

PKR vs PZ Live Score, ECS T10 France 2024 Live Score, PKR vs PZ Scorecard Today, Playing XI’s

MI vs RR Live Score starts on 22 Apr 2024, Mon, 7:30 PM IST at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai., Chennai Here on you can find all Live,

MI vs RR Live Score, IPL 2024 Live Score, MI vs RR Scorecard Today, Playing XI’s