IPL to witness clash of two debutants

  • Gujrat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants are new entrants in IPL
  • KL Rahul will be leading LSG whereas Hardik Pandya will captain the Titans
  • Some key international players will be missing out on the first game due to late arrival in the country

The fourth episode of the Indian marquee event will see two league debutants go head-to-head. Teams Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Gujrat Titans (GT) will face off today in Wankhede Stadium Mumbai. the introduction of two new franchises has only made the tournament bigger and more entertaining and the cricket fans are eagerly waiting for the clash of the debutants.

Sanjeev Goenka’s RPSG Group owns the LSG and roped in KL Rahul ahead of the February auction and was later announced as the captain of the team. It is not the first time Rahul will be captaining any team since he was leading the Punjab Kings for the past two years. As far as the team is concerned there three key international players Quinton de Kock, Stoinis and Jason Holder will be arriving late due to their national duties. The franchise suffered a blow when English star Mark Wood got ruled out of the tournament due to an aggravated elbow injury. Andy Flower, who coached the Multan Sultans in PSL is the head coach of the franchise.

Ahmedabad-based Gujrat Titans on the other hand is owned by CVC Capital Partners. Indian bowler Hardik Pandya was made the captain of the franchise, his first time commanding any team in the IPL. Wicket-keeper batter Mathew Wade and Proteas power-hitter David Miller are a crucial part of the batting line-up and might not play their first game against the LSG due to late arrival. Another hitter Jason Roy pulled out of the tournament just weeks before the tournament citing bubble fatigue. Ashish Nehra, the former Indian bowler, will be coaching the new entrant.

Lucknow Super Giants Full Squad

Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Lockie Ferguson, Abhinav Sadarangani, Rahul Tewatia, Noor Ahmad, R. Sai Kishore, Dominic Drakes, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Pradeep Sangwan, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, B. Sai Sudarshan, Gurkeerat Singh, Varun Aaron

Gujrat Titans Full Squad

KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi, Quinton de Kock, Manish Pandey, Jason Holder, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Andrew Tye, Avesh Khan, Ankit Rajpoot, K Gowtham, Dushmanta Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Ayush Badoni, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma

Also, Read: Another dent for Delhi Capitals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Women World Cup 2022: Bismah Maroof tells how Pak-W could have been better

Women’s World Cup 2022: Bismah Maroof tells how Pak-W could have been better

West Indies to tour Pakistan in June 2022

West Indies to tour Pakistan in June 2022