in ,

Asia Cup winners list from 1984 to 2018

Asia Cup winners list from 1984 to 2018
Asia Cup winners list from 1984 to 2018

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup revolves just around the corner, with the first rivalry scheduled between Afghanistan and hosts Sri Lanka. It will be played between August 27th and September in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). For the second time in Asia Cup history, the ACC tournament will be played in a T20 manner.

Earlier, it took place in a 20-over format in 2016 after ACC was downsized by the global cricket body in 2015. It was decided that it will be played on a rotation basis in T20 and ODI formats, also considering the format of World Cup scheduled after Asia Cup. The latest edition was battled in 2018, when India lifted the trophy beating Bangladesh under RG Sharma’s leadership.

The roots are pierced back to 1984 when it was first played in the UAE 1984. Only three participants, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, were part of the inaugural edition. In the next edition that took place in 1986, India pulled out of the tournament following its political instability with Sri Lanka. They were replaced by Bangladesh.

Up to date, India have the most number of titles; seven. At the same time, Pakistan have managed to win on two occasions. Sri Lanka are the second most successful team after India, bagging five Asia Cup titles. No other team has occurred as an Asia Cup winner apart from these three.

Since all gear up for Asia Cup 2022 starting within the next 24 hours, let’s eye at all the winners in 14 versions contested yet.

Asia Cup winners list from 1984 to 2000

Years Winner Name Runner-up Name Host Country
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1990/91 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 TBA TBA Pakistan

Also, see:

What options PCB have to replace Shaheen in Asia Cup 2022 squad?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WEF-W vs NOS-W Live Score starts on 26th August at 08:00 PM IST at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff, England. Here on you can find all Live, Upcoming and

WEF-W vs NOS-W Live Score, The Hundred Women 2022, WEF-W vs NOS-W Scorecard Today, WEF-W vs NOS-W Playing XI’s

Wasim Jnr ruled out of Pakistan's Asia Cup 2022 squad, PCB names replacement

Wasim Jnr ruled out of Pakistan’s Asia Cup 2022 squad, PCB names replacement