in ,

2025 Champions Trophy Qualification Rules Revealed by ICC

  • Pakistan will host the 2025 Champions Trophy.

In a recent announcement, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the qualification scenario for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, scheduled to be hosted by Pakistan. The top seven teams concluding the league stage of the ongoing Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 in India will secure their spots in the eight-team tournament, joining the host nation Pakistan.

The decision, approved by the ICC Board in 2021, marks a departure from the previous editions of the Champions Trophy, where the top eight teams in the ODI rankings qualified for the tournament. This alteration has sparked controversy, particularly among Full Member nations like West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland, who will miss the opportunity to participate as they did not qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Also read: What Lies Ahead for Pakistan in the ICC World Cup 2023?

The revelation of this qualification process has left some cricket boards unaware, with teams expressing disappointment at being excluded from the Champions Trophy due to their absence in the World Cup. Despite Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan’s remarks alluding to the Champions Trophy during a press conference, the lack of communication from the ICC has led to confusion and disappointment among teams like Zimbabwe, Ireland, and West Indies.

While the ICC spokesperson confirmed the approval of the qualification scenario in 2021, the oversight in communicating this crucial information to teams has raised questions about the transparency of the process. The upcoming 2025 Champions Trophy will follow the structure of previous editions, featuring two groups of four, semi-finals, and a final.

The controversy surrounding the qualification process adds another layer to the broader context of global cricketing events announced by the ICC for the 2024-31 cycle. The decision to exclude certain teams based on their World Cup qualification status underscores the importance of clear communication between cricket boards and the governing body.

Looking ahead, the ICC has also disclosed plans for the 2027 World Cup, set to be a 14-team tournament co-hosted by South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. The qualification criteria for this event involve the top eight ranked teams in the ICC rankings, with an additional four teams earning their spots through global qualifier tournaments. Zimbabwe and South Africa will automatically qualify as the co-hosts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka ODI World Cup 2023 Live Streaming

Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka ODI World Cup 2023 Live Streaming

Shahid Afridi criticizes Babar Azam's captaincy

Shahid Afridi criticizes Babar Azam’s captaincy